Netball World Cup

Australia at the Netball World Cup 2023

The Netball World Cup (NWC), previously known as the World Netball Championships is netball’s flagship event owned by World Netball, and it brings together the top 16 teams in the world every four years.  

The hosts of the NWC automatically qualify for the competition, as well as the top five teams in the World Netball World Rankings on the date of qualification. The remaining 10 teams are decided through qualifiers in World Netball’s five regions, with the top two teams from each qualifier invited by World Netball to compete at the NWC.  

The NWC, which first started in 1963, showcases netball around the world through a range of broadcast partners introducing netball to a whole new audience.  

World Netball Congress is also held alongside the event providing a global forum for netball nations to come together, innovate, share ideas and celebrate women in sport.  

Australia are the current World Champions, having beaten England 61 – 45 at the Netball World Cup 2023, in what was the Roses first ever NWC Final.  

The next NWC will be hosted in Sydney, Australia in 2027 with more information to follow. To keep up to date on all the latest news subscribe to our World Netball Newsletter here.  

Previous Netball World Events

From 1963 until 1987 the World Netball Championships were played in a ’round robin’ format.  The name of the tournament became the ‘Netball World Cup’ in 2015.

YearLocationWinnerRunner UpThird PlaceNo. of Teams
2023Cape Town, South AfricaAustraliaEnglandJamaica16
2019Liverpool, EnglandNew ZealandAustraliaEngland16
2015Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland16
2011SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandEngland16
2007Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica16
2003Kingston, JamaicaNew ZealandAustraliaJamaica24
1999Christchurch, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland26
1995Birmingham, EnglandAustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand27
1991Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica20
1987Glasgow, ScotlandNew ZealandAustralia =
Trinidad & Tobago
1983SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandTrinidad & Tobago14
1979Port of Spain, Trinidad & TobagoNew Zealand =
Australia =
Trinidad & Tobago
1975Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaEnglandNew Zealand11
1971Kingston, JamaicaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland9
1967Perth, AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaSouth Africa8
1963Eastbourne, EnglandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland11


Click on the previous editions of the NWC below to learn more about the history of that event.  

Netball World Cup - Cape Town 2023
Netball World Cup – Liverpool 2019
Netball World Cup – Sydney 2015
World Netball Championships – Singapore 2011
World Netball Championships – Auckland 2007
World Netball Championships – Kingston 2003
World Netball Championships – Christchurch 1999
World Netball Championships – Birmingham 1995
World Netball Championships – Sydney 1991
World Netball Tournament – Glasgow 1987
World Netball Tournament – Singapore 1983
World Netball Tournament – Port of Spain 1979
World Netball Tournament – Auckland 1975
World Netball Tournament – Kingston 1971
World Netball Tournament – Perth 1967
World Netball Tournament – Eastbourne 1963