Cape Town 2023

Netball World Cup 2023 Event Programme

Key Statistics

Champions: Australia (12th Title)

Runners Up: England

Dates: July 28th – August 6th

Venue: Cape Town International Convention Centre 1 and 2

Host City/Country: Cape Town, South Africa

Number of Teams: 16

Matches Played: 60

MVP (Most Valuable Player): Helen Housby (from England)


Australia Win Their 12th Title, as England Make Their First Netball World Cup Final

Australia at the Netball World Cup 2023

Cape Town hosted the first ever Netball World Cup on the African continent from the 28th July – 6th August 2023. The 16th edition of the Netball World Cup also marked its 60th anniversary. Australia won their 12th World Title, beating first time Netball World Cup finalists, England, in the Final. Jamaica claimed bronze when they beat the defending Champions New Zealand. 

Netball World Cup court

16 nations competed in the competition across 10 days. After two group stages, the two Semi-Finals were set up as England vs New Zealand and Jamaica vs Australia, with Australia and England winning their games to proceed to the Final. England had beaten Australia in the group stages 55 – 56, however when they met again in the Final it was Australia that were triumphant as they beat the Roses 45 – 61.

Other stand-out moments from the NWC2023 included Tonga competing in the event for the first time since 1999, Geva Mentor CBE (England) and Latonia Blackman (Barbados) making history as they equalled Rhonda John-Davis (Trinidad and Tobago) record of playing at six Netball World Cup’s, and the hosts South Africa drawing 48-48 with the defending Champions New Zealand.

The Netball Family all over the world were able to watch all of this and more thanks to World Netball making the event available to everyone through their OTT platform, NetballPass. To re-watch any matches or catch up on those you missed, head over to NetballPass now.

World Netball’s Congress also took place on the 26th and 27th of July ahead of the event in Cape Town, with Dame Liz Nicholl DBE re-elected for another term as World Netball President. Stacey Francis-Bayman was also appointed as the first ever Athlete Director on the World Netball Board, whilst Suri Bartlett was appointed as  Independent Finance Director replacing Ann Tod who stepped down after 12 years of service as Finance Director on the World Netball Board.

Two of World Netball’s Regional Directors, Marva Bernard OD (Director – Americas) and Gaby Hochbaum (Director – Asia) stepped down from their roles at Congress 2023. Dr Bridget Adams will replace Bernard as the Americas Regional Director, whilst Victoria Lakshmi will replace Gaby Hochbaum, both having been elected to serve on the World Netball Board by their respective regional Federations.

For more information on World Netball Congress 2023, click here. 

2023 Congress delegates

In addition to this World Netball also launched their World Netball Foundation.The Foundation will work to support the delivery of World Netball’s “INSPIRE” strategic purpose to harness the power of netball to change lives by creating new possibilities for individuals, communities and societies to achieve through netball. With a mission to build opportunities, environments, and partnerships that are inclusive, promote equality and change lives, the Foundation will use the sport of netball to drive positive change around the world.

Final Placings

1st – Australia

2nd – England

3rd – Jamaica

4th – New Zealand

5th – Uganda

6th – South Africa

7th – Malawi

8th – Tonga

9th – Wales

10th – Scotland

11th – Fiji

12th – Trinidad and Tobago

13th – Zimbabwe

14th – Barbados

15th – Singapore

16th – Sri Lanka

To view the results from the Netball World Cup 2023, click here. 

To view the statistics from the Netball World Cup 2023, click here.