All You Need To Know: The Europe Netball Open Challenge 2022

The Europe Netball Open Challenge takes place this week from the 12th to the 15th May in the Isle of Man at the National Sports Centre.

The hosts will welcome the Cayman Islands (invitational), Gibraltar, Switzerland, UAE, Republic of Ireland, Malta, and Israel for four days of competition.

Last year, the event took place in Gibraltar with the UAE making history as they finished 1st in the competition, after winning all fours of their matches.

This year the eight teams have been split into two groups, A and B, based on the World Netball World Rankings as of the 1st March 2022.

Here are the two groups:

1 Isle of Man
2 Cayman Islands
3 Gibraltar
4 Switzerland


2 Republic of Ireland
3 Malta
4 Israel

In the first two days of competition, the teams will play all those within their groups, with the final group standings then being used to determine who the teams play next on day three, and then day three results being used to decide the schedule for the final day of competition.

Here is the schedule (UK times given):

  Thursday 12th May
9am UAE vs Malta
11am Republic of Ireland vs Israel
1pm Isle of Man vs Gibraltar
3pm Cayman Islands vs Switzerland
5pm Republic of Ireland vs Malta
7pm UAE vs Israel


  Friday 13th May
9am Isle of Man vs Cayman Islands
11am Gibraltar vs Switzerland
1pm UAE vs Republic of Ireland
3pm Malta vs Israel
5pm Isle of Man vs Switzerland
7pm Cayman Islands vs Gibraltar


    Saturday 14th May
Match 1 9am A 3rd vs B 4th
Match 2 11am A 4th vs B 3rd
Match 3 1pm A 2nd vs B 1st
Match 4 3pm A 1st vs B 2nd
  5pm Loser of Match 1 vs Loser of Match 2 (7th & 8th)


  Sunday 15th May
9am Winner of match 1 vs Winner of Match 2 (5th & 6th )
11am Winner of match 3 v Loser of Match 4 (3rd & 4th )
1pm Winner of Match 3 v Winner of Match 4 (1st and 2nd )

The competition will then conclude with the presentations taking place at 2:45pm GMT on Sunday 13th May.

All matches will be available to watch on Europe Netball’s YouTube channel, here.

Tickets for the event can be purchased on the door, or online here.

You can view the full schedule here, here

You can view the Officials selected for the event, here.

Good luck to all teams involved!