Oceania Region

Silver Ferns lift the trophy at the Netball World Cup 2019

Scope of the Region

The Oceania Region covers a total of twenty-four (24) countries.

Current Regional & World Netball Members

Any country within the Region is encouraged to play and develop netball but those who join both the Regional Federation and World Netball, either as Associate or Full Members, gain access to a wider range of support services.

The Oceania Region currently has two Associate Members and seven Full Members.

If you would like more information on joining your Regional Federation and World Netball please contact World Netball.

Full Members

Papua New Guinea
Fiji Flag
Tonga Flag
New Zealand Flag
Samoa Flag

Associate Members

Norfolk Islands Flag
Niue Flag

Lead Agency

The Federation of Oceania Netball Associations, known as ‘Oceania Netball Federation (ONF)’ is the lead World Netball Agency for the Oceania region.

ONF is in the process of reviewing its Regional Strategic Plan 2020-2024 aptly titled “One Ocean, One Family” setting out the need for members to collaborate and cooperate to support netball development across the region – from participation through to performance – over the next four to ten years.

Regional Federation Officials

The President of the Oceania Netball Federation (ONF) Executive Committee is elected by Members of the Association every four years at the Annual General Meeting held the same year as Congress/Netball World Cup.

The current Oceania Netball Federation Executive Committee includes:

  • President: Wainikiti (Kiti) Bogidrau
  • Executive Members: Kate Agnew (NZ) Mi’i Maui (Cook Islands) RubyAnn Sorovaki (Fiji) Ulato Avei (PNG) Rosemarie Lome (Samoa) Salote Sisifa (Tonga)
  • Oceania Netball Federation Administrator: Nicola (Nic) Jones
  • World Netball Regional Director: Wainikiti (Kiti) Bogidrau

Regional Meetings

Oceania Netball Federation (ONF) meets once a year at the Annual General Meeting. The executives meet once a month.


ONF members are invited to compete in the following events bi-annually:

  • Pacific Games since 1963
  • Pacific Mini Games

The Pacific Netball Series is an annual World Netball ranked series which has shared hosting by the following competing ONF member countries, as a result of a Memorandum of Understanding and inaugural tournament that was hosted by Samoa in 2009; Cook Islands 2010; PNG 2011; Fiji 2012; Samoa 2013; Cook Islands 2014. The ONF currently in discussions to revive this.

Currently, the four countries – Fiji, Papua New Guinea, Samoa and Tonga have been competing at the Aust Pacific Netball Series since 2021. The series is financially supported by Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade and administered by Netball Australia.

The ONF organises a Regional qualifying tournament every four years, held the year prior to the Netball World Cup or Netball World Youth Cup. The Qualifiers for the NWC 2023 Was held in Suva, Fiji and for the NWYC 2025, this would be held in Rarotonga, Cook Islands in September, 2024.

At the last NWC2023 in Cape Town, South Africa, our region was represented by New Zealand, Tonga and Fiji, who finished 4th, 8th, 11th respectively, amongst the 16 teams that competed.