FAST5 Netball World Series

The FAST5 Netball World Series (FAST5 NWS) is an international competition based on the netball’s newest format Fast5.

FAST5 is netball like you’ve never seen before; featuring dynamic rules changes including five players a side, shorter quarters, power plays and super shots.

The Netball World Series features the world’s best, with teams from Australia, England, Fiji, Jamaica, Malawi, New Zealand, Samoa, South Africa and Uganda having played in the series so far.

The Series was first held in England from 2009-2011 and the game played was called Fast Net, this evolved into FAST5 in 2012.

About FAST5 NWS 2022-2024

In 2021, Netball Netball New Zealand were awarded the right by World Netball to host the FAST5 Netball World Series from 2022 – 2024.

The 2022 event was played in Christchurch at the Christchurch Arena, and the 2023 event will also be played in Christchurch at the same venue.

The FAST5 Netball World Series 2023 will take place from the 11th-12th November 2023, and tournament passes for the event are on sale now. Visit the FAST5 Netball World Series website to purchase yours. 

In 2022, the world’s top-ranked six teams were invited to play the fast-moving condensed version of the game from the 5th-6th November. This included the hosts New Zealand, Australia, Jamaica, England, South Africa and Uganda. This was the first time Uganda had been invited to compete in the event.

Australia were crowned champions of the event, after beating South Africa 34 – 20 in the final. To read a full recap of the event, click here.

In 2022, for the first time there was also a men’s FAST5 Netball World Series. This was the first time men competed in a World Netball event, and the teams involved were New Zealand, Australia and England.

New Zealand Men were crowned the inaugural winners, after beating Australia Men 25 – 29 in the final.

To find out more about the event, visit FAST5’s website or read our event recap, here.

Click here to download the 2022 Fast5 Rules in English

Previous Netball World Series

YearGame FormatLocationWinnerRunner UpThird PlaceNo of Teams
2022Fast5Christchurch, New ZealandAustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand6
2018Fast5Melbourne, AustraliaNew ZealandJamaica Australia6
2017Fast5Melbourne, Australia EnglandJamaicaAustralia6
2016Fast5Melbourne, AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaMalawi6
2014Fast5Auckland, New ZealandNew ZealandAustraliaEngland6
2013Fast5Auckland, New ZealandNew ZealandAustraliaJamaica6
2012Fast5Auckland, New ZealandNew ZealandEnglandSouth Africa6
2011FastNetLiverpool, EnglandEnglandNew ZealandAustralia6
2010FastNetLiverpool, EnglandNew ZealandEnglandJamaica6
2009FastNetManchester, EnglandNew ZealandJamaicaAustralia6

NEWSLETTER Keep up to date with the latest news and events from INF.