

EMBARGOED UNTIL THURSDAY 30th JANUARY 2025 4pm GMT

World Netball Announces officials for NWYC2025

World Netball (WN) has today announced the International Technical Officials (ITO) and the National Technical Officials (NTO) selected for the Netball World Youth Cup 2025 (NWYC2025), taking place in Gibraltar from the 19th-28th September 2025.

28 ITO have been selected through the defined WN processes, including seven for the Umpire Appointments Panel (UAP) and 21 Umpires.

A special invitation has been extended to a host nation based International Talent Identified (ITID) umpire to be appointed to join the selected ITO.

This is to ensure that WN is supporting the host nation to deliver on one of its local legacy objectives, which is a critical element to demonstrating success and impact in Gibraltar.

WN is delighted that this will now be built into its future hosting strategy and become a key thread of its strategic pillar, 'Inspire'.

29 NTO have also been selected through a host nation defined process to fulfil the roles of Technical Officials, Technical Officials Manager, Bench Coordinator, and

Bench Manager. One more NTO will be announced in due course.

The full list of ITO and NTO can be found below. Non-travelling reserves have also been selected who are not named.

The team of Officials detailed below, will join the already appointed NWYC2025 Technical Delegate, Megan Fey.

Umpire Appointments Panel (UAP)

- Marielouw Van der Merwe (Chair)
- Cheryl Danson
- Margaret Deighan
- Anne Marie Dickson-Lewis
- Annette Smith
- David Pala'amo
- Kirsten Lloyd

Umpires

- Justin Barnes
- Nathan Begley
- Tamara Buriani-Gennai
- Louise Cole
- Rhian Edwards

- Myron Elkington
- Tania Fink
- Moeth Gaymes
- Leonard Masao
- Sasha McLeod
- Cory Nicholls
- Lizzie Saywell
- Georgina Sulley-Beales
- Makeba Clarke
- Tayla Favell
- Gillian Leslie
- Zak Middleton
- Theophilus Moletsane
- Tharina Opperman
- Jessica Teng
- Sophia Wilson
- Nadine Pardo-Zammit (Gibraltar ITID)

Technical Officials Manager

Pat Percy

Bench Coordinator

• Karen Cartwright

Bench Manager

- Jackie Gregory
- Wendy Broad
- Lauren Lewis

Technical Officials

- Brenda Ratcliffe
- Carol Alexander
- Dawn Jackson
- Donna Fensom
- Fenella Davidson
- Jan Johnson
- Jayne Bell
- Lynsey Ganderton
- Mary Stanley
- Nicola Grant
- Robyn Rogers
- Sam Rudd

- Sara Bostock
- Sarah Jackson
- Zoe Ballantine
- Zoe McMahon
- Emily Bright
- Ivana Schembri
- Yasmin Cosqueri
- Kathy Ballantine
- Kirsty Neale
- Soraya Schembri
- Naomi Duo
- Megan Ruiz

Speaking on the announcement, World Netball International Officiating Manager, Christina Barrow, said: "The Netball World Youth Cup is the most prestigious U21 netball event in the World Netball calendar, and it is always a privilege to announce the officials that have been selected, which is a testament to their hard work, dedication and talent.

"All our World Netball officials are volunteers, and we truly appreciate the time they sacrifice in order to make sure every international netball event is a success.

"I would like to take this opportunity to wish all those selected the very best of luck at

the Netball World Youth Cup 2025 in Gibraltar.

To see the full list of qualified teams for the NWYC2025, click here.

ENDS

Images:

INTERNATIONAL TECHNICAL OFFICIALS

UMPIRE APPOINTMENT PANEL (UAP):



Marielouw Van der Merwe [UAP Chair]

Cheryl Danson Margaret Deighan Anne Marie Dickson-Lewis Annette Smith David Pala'amo Kirsten Lloyd

UMPIRES:

Justin Barnes
Nathan Begley
Tamara
Buriani-Gennai
Makeba Clarke
Louise Cole
Rhian Edwards
Myron Elkington
Tayla Favell

Tania Fink Moeth Gaymes Leonard Masao Sasha McLeod Cory Nicholls Lizzie Saywell Georgina

Georgina Sulley-Beales Gillian Leslie Zak Middleton Theophilus Moletsane Tharina Opperman Nadine Pardo-Zammit Jessica Teng Sophia Wilson



BENCH MANAGERS:

Karen Cartwright – **Bench Coordinator** Jackie Gregory Wendy Broad Lauren Lewis

TECHNICAL OFFICIALS:

Pat Percy – Technical Officials Manager

Brenda Ratcliffe Carol Alexander Dawn Jackson Donna Fensom Jan Johnson Jayne Bell Lynsey Ganderton Mary Stanley Robyn Rogers Sam Rudd Sara Bostock Sarah Jackson Zoe Ballantine Zoe McMahon Emily Bright Ivana Schembri

Yasmin Cosqueri Kathy Ballantine Kirsty Neale Soraya Schembri Naomi Duo Megan Ruiz Fenella Davidson Nicola Grant

Media Contact:

Sophie.reynolds@worldnetball.sport

Notes to Editors:

World Netball

World Netball is the sole, internationally recognised, governing body for netball affiliated to GAISF, the International World Games Association and the Association of Recognised International Sports Federations (ARISF), receiving funding from the International Olympic Committee.

World Netball creates a better world through netball, inspiring netballers to embrace opportunities and achieve their potential. Netball is played in more than 100 countries around the world with 79 National Netball Associations affiliated to World Netball. The associations are grouped into five Regions – Africa Netball, Americas Netball, Asia Netball, Europe Netball and Oceania Netball – each with a respective Regional Federation. Regional Federations are an integral part of the global governance structure and assist in the implementation of World Netball policies and the development of the sport in their respective regions.

For more information visit www.worldnetball.sport