Netball World Cup 2019




The Netball World Cup (NWC), previously known as the World Netball Championships, brings together the world’s top teams and represents netball’s flagship event.

The event is showcased around the world through a range of broadcast partners introducing Netball to a whole new audience.

INF Congress is also held alongside the event providing a global forum for Netball nations to come together, to innovate, share ideas and celebrate women in sport.

In 2019 the event will be held in Liverpool, England hosted by England Netball supported by UK Sport.

12-21 JULY 2019

We look forward to welcoming you there!












In February 2015, Liverpool was announced as the host city. The Netball World Cup 2019 will take place from 12th – 21st of July, 2019. This will be the first Netball World Cup on English soil since the event was in Birmingham back in 1995.

Australia will be the defending champions, having won their 11th title in Sydney in 2015. Australia have won the last three Netball World Cups.

All 16 teams have qualified for Liverpool 2019. England have automatically qualified as hosts, while Scotland and Northern Ireland qualified from the Netball Europe Region, Fiji and Samoa qualified from the Oceania Region, Uganda and Zimbabwe qualified from the Africa Region, Barbados and Trinidad & Tobago qualified from the Americas Region and Sri Lanka and Singapore qualified from the Asia Region. Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, South Africa and Malawi have qualified from their INF World Ranking on July 1 2018.



Click HERE for the full format of the Netball World Cup 2019.




Sixteen teams from across the world will compete in Liverpool for netball’s ultimate prize; the Vitality Netball World Cup. Teams have been selected through both International Netball Federation (INF) world rankings and regional qualifying tournaments.

As host nation, England automatically qualified for the tournament, along with the top five ranked teams; Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, South Africa, and Malawi.  These six teams will be joined in Liverpool by the countries listed below, all of whom qualified through their respective Regional Qualifier events in 2018.


The five teams to qualify automatically for the Vitality Netball World Cup 2019 have been confirmed as Australia, New Zealand, Jamaica, South Africa, and Malawi. These teams join England who qualified as host nation.


Five Regional Qualifier events took place throughout 2018, with two teams from each of the INF regions – Africa, Americas, Asia, Europe and Oceania, qualifying to make up the remaining 10 teams contesting the World Cup.


Qualified teams: Northern Ireland and Scotland


Qualified teams:  Fiji and Samoa


Qualified Teams: Uganda and Zimbabwe


Qualified Teams: Trinidad and Tobago and Barbados


Qualified Teams: Sri Lanka and Singapore

To view the current world rankings and for further information about our INF ranking system click HERE


Find out about previous Netball World Cup events HERE

NEWSLETTER Keep up to date with the latest news and events from INF.