Netball World Cup 2019 competition format revealed

With just 500 days to go until the first centre pass in Liverpool, the competition format for the Netball World Cup 2019 has been revealed.

The International Netball Federation has developed a new format for the 2019 tournament, which will see teams compete in three stages: the Preliminaries Stage One from 12-14 July, the Preliminaries Stage Two from 15-18 July and the Play-offs and Placings matches from 19-21 July.

The full competition schedule will be confirmed in September 2018 once the final teams have been confirmed. Subscribe to the Netball World Cup here for the latest updates.

Preliminaries Stage One (12-14 July)

Teams will compete in four round-robin groups (A, B, C and D) which each consist of four teams.

Teams are assigned to their preliminary groups by seeding based on their world rankings. The top eight teams are pre-assigned to groups, with one team from the 9th-12th seeds and one from the 13th-16thseeds drawn randomly into each group.  A regional override will be applied to prevent more than two teams from one region being drawn into the same preliminary group.

Group A: 1st seed, 8th seed, 9-12th seed, 13th – 16th seed

Group B: 3rd seed, 6th seed, 9-12th seed, 13th – 16th seed

Group C: 4th seed, 5th seed, 9-12th seed, 13th – 16th seed

Group D: 2nd seed, 7th seed, 9-12th seed, 13th – 16th seed

The top three finishers in each group will then progress to the Preliminaries: Stage Two to compete for the title.

More information about the qualification process for the Netball World Cup 2019 and world rankings can be found here.

Preliminaries Stage Two (14-18 July)

In the second stage of the competition, the top three teams from groups A and B will form group F, and the top three teams from groups C and D will form group G. The bottom four finishers from groups A-D will compete for 13th-16th places in group E.

Where teams in groups F and G have already played each other in the Preliminaries Stage One (i.e. A1 has already played A2 and A3), these results will carry through to the Preliminaries Stage Two.

Play-offs and Placings (19-21 July)

Groups F and G

The teams finishing first and second in groups F and G will go through to the semi-finals, with the top placed team in each group facing the second placed team in the other group. The winners of each semi-final will compete for gold in the final, with the losers playing for bronze.

The teams finishing third and fourth in groups F and G will compete for final positions fifth to eighth – third in one group plays fourth in the other – with the winners playing off for fifth place and the losers for seventh.

The teams that finish fifth in groups F and G will play off for ninth and 10th places.

The teams that finish last in groups F and G will play off for 11th and 12th places.

Group E

The top two teams from group E will play off for 13th and 14th place and the bottom two teams will play off for 15th and 16th place.

Related News
SPAR Challenge Series
SPAR Challenge Series
Read More
England Netball Amongst 11 Sports Eligible For Major Sport Rescue Package
England Netball Amongst 11 Sports Eligible For Major Sport Rescue Package
Read More
SPAR Challenge Series Umpire Appointments
SPAR Challenge Series Umpire Appointments
Read More

NEWSLETTER Keep up to date with the latest news and events from INF.