Australia announce Commonwealth Games Squad

Australia have announced their squad that will defend their Commonwealth Gold Medal on home soil this April.

The side will be captained by Caitlin Bassett with Gabi Simpson as the vice captain. The squad consists of five former Commonwealth games gold medalists who were victorious in Glasgow 2014. They are; Caitlin Bassett, Laura Geitz, Kim Ravaillion, Madi Robinson and Caitlin Thwaites.

Laura Geitz returns to the Diamonds squad for the first time since 2015 after a two year hiatus at international level following the birth of her first child.

Susan Pettitt has also been named in the squad after missing out four years ago in Glasgow. This will be Pettitt’s third Games following a silver medal in both Melbourne 2006 and Delhi 2010.

Six players will make their first ever appearance at a Commonwealth Games. They are; April Brandley, Courtney Bruce, Jo Weston, Gabi Simpson, Liz Watson and Stephanie Wood.

The squad have a combined total of 431 caps, with captain Caitlin Bassett being the highest capped with 74 and Stephanie Wood being the lowest capped with 8.

Australian Diamonds Squad for Commonwealth Games 2018
Caitlin Bassett (C)
April Brandley
Courtney Bruce
Laura Geitz
Susan Pettitt
Kim Ravaillion
Madi Robinson
Gabi Simpson (v/c)
Caitlin Thwaites
Liz Watson
Jo Weston
Stephanie Wood

Follow the Diamonds on Twitter here for the latest updates in their camp.

Australia are the third team to announce their squad for the Games with Northern Ireland and South Africa being the other two.





Related News
Netball World Youth Cup 2017 – Recap and Highlights
Netball World Youth Cup 2017 – Recap and Highlights
Read More
International Day of Sport for Development and Peace
International Day of Sport for Development and Peace
Read More
We’re All In This Together #NetballFamily
We’re All In This Together #NetballFamily
Read More

NEWSLETTER Keep up to date with the latest news and events from INF.